CBCS Board

Current members of the Conference Board of Church and Society (July, 2017):

Pastor Romana Abelova

Mr. Frederick Brewington
Rev. John Collins
Ms. Ann Craig
Rev. Douglas Cunningham

Pastor Hector Custodio

Wesley Daniel
Mr. Steven Derby
Ms. Barbara Edwards
Rev. Paul Fleck

Mr. Edward Gooding
Rev. Dr. Emily Hall

Pastor Melissa Hinnen, Chair
Rev. Wongee Joh
Pastor Bruce Lamb

Rev. Lydia Lebron-Rivera

Christine Lindeberg
Ms. Judith McRae

Matthew Querns
Rev. A. Erik Rasmussen

Rev. Timothy Riss

Sharon Roth
Ms. Claris Skerrit

Ms. Michelle Stanley

Ms. Giselle Stanley
Rev. Joseph Upole
Rev. Charles Van Houten

Staff:  Sheila Peiffer, Coordinator;  Jennifer Berry, Assistant Coordinator




Conference Board of Church and Society Staff:


Sheila Peiffer,  Coordinator of Social Justice Organizing, Engagement and Advocacy

Sheila Peiffer has a long history of working on Catholic Church reform in a number of different organizations, including serving as National Communication Coordinator of the American Catholic Council and being President of the Board of Directors for the Women’s Ordination Conference.  Her passion for social justice has ranged widely from resettling Vietnam war refugees, to teaching in the Rising Hope prison ministry program, to facilitating a coalition of reform groups.

Sheila has a B.A. from Smith College and an M.A. in Theology from Seminary of the Immaculate Conception in Huntington, NY.  She served twenty years in parish ministry, five years as a campus minister and has done extensive work in retreat ministry.  She is married to Rev. Steven Peiffer, elder in the UMC and currently pastor of First UMC in Wallingford, CT.  They have four adult children and five grandchildren. Sheila can be reached at:churchandsociety@nyac-umc.com.

Currently, Sheila is focusing on Prison Ministry Initiatives.  For ongoing updates about prison ministry opportunities please check the blog.