FEMA Deadline Extended Once Again to April 13th

FEMA Deadline Extended Once Again to April 13th

Disaster Recovery Ministries Team


New York survivors have until April 13 to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency and return their applications for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Disaster assistance to New York survivors of Hurricane Sandy:

  • More than $941 million in FEMA grants approved for individuals and households
    • Nearly $809 million for housing assistance
    • More than $132 million for other needs
  • More than $1.3 billion in SBA disaster loans approved for homeowners, renters and businesses
  • Nearly $3.2 billion in National Flood Insurance Program payments made to policy holders
  • More than $806 million approved in FEMA Public Assistance grants to communities and some nonprofit organizations that serve the public
  • 270,634 people have registered for assistance in the 13 designated counties
  • 182,426 housing inspections completed
  • 175,215 visits to Disaster Recovery Centers
  • 5.6 million cubic yards of debris removed
  • More than 500 voluntary agencies involved in recovery
  • 26 languages used to communicate assistance information to survivors

The extension allows survivors in the 13 New York counties designated for federal individual assistance more time to register with FEMA. The designated counties are: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester.

People living in these counties who sustained loses due to Hurricane Sandy should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. Applying by the deadline may help survivors avoid a funding shortfall if they later find that they are under-insured or have additional damages.

Survivors who register may be eligible for federal grants to help cover various disaster-related expenses, including rent, essential home repairs, personal property losses and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance.
By returning the SBA disaster loan application, homeowners may be eligible for up to $200,000 to repair or replace their storm-damaged primary residence. Homeowners and renters may be eligible for up to $40,000 for replacement of personal property. Businesses and private nonprofits may be eligible to borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace storm-damaged property.

Survivors have several ways to register:

  • Online at DisasterAssistance.gov.
  • Via smartphone or tablet, go to m.fema.gov or download the FEMA app.
  • By phone, the FEMA helpline is 800-621-3362 (Voice, 7-1-1/Relay) or (TTY) 800-462-7585. The helpline is available 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT, seven days a week.

Beginning Monday, April 1, Nassau and Suffolk disaster recovery centers will be open 11 a.m. to 8 p.m., Monday through Friday, and on Saturday, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. All centers are closed on Sunday.

To apply for an SBA disaster loan, go to https://DisasterLoan.SBA.gov/ELA . Survivors may also visit a Disaster Loan Outreach Center (text “DRC” and your Zip Code to 43362 or go to FEMA.gov/disaster-recovery-centers  for locations). For assistance, call the SBA Disaster Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (TTY 800-877-8339) or send an email to DisasterCustomerService@sba.gov.