Shirley Parris Service Award

The Shirley Parris Award is presented for exceptional, uncompensated service to the United Methodist connection by a lay person. Nominees should exemplify the selfless and loving example of Parris, whose lifelong devotion to Jesus Christ and the church was expressed through her service to the local church, district, New York Conference and the jurisdictional and general conferences. This award was created in her honor at the 2011 N.Y. Annual Conference and is presented at succeeding conference sessions.

The deadline for nominations for the 2019 award has been extended to noon, May 21, 2019Nominees must be lay persons. Each nomination should include a descriptive one page resume of that individual’s service to his or her local church and the organizations, committees and boards beyond.  The nomination form is available below.

Download the information sheet and nomination form.

Completed nominations should be mailed to:
Roena Littlejohn
Conference Lay Leader
91 Laurel Place, Bridgeport, CT 06604-1717
Or sent to her via email.

Past Award Recipients include:

2018: Edna Rouse, Vanderveer Park UMC, Brooklyn, LIW District
2016: Marilyn Wakefield, Reservoir UMC, Shokan, N.Y., CH District
2015: Magdalene Russell-Tattnall, Vandeveer Park UMC, Brooklyn, LIW District
2014: Barbara Edwards, St. Paul's UMC, Jamaica, N.Y., LIW District
2013: Beth Capen, Rondout Valley UMC, Stoneridge, N.Y., CH District
2012: Lucille Dockery, UMC of Hyde Park, Hyde Park, N.Y., NYCT District