The Board of Laity of the New York Conference Announces
the Sixth Annual

Shirley Parris Service Award

For Exceptional, Uncompensated Service to the United Methodist Connection

Nominees should exemplify the selfless and loving example of Ms. Shirley Parris, whose lifelong devotion to Jesus Christ and His church was expressed through her service to the local church, the New York Annual Conference and the Jurisdictional and General Conferences of the United Methodist Church. This award was created in her honor at the 2011 NYAC Annual Conference and will be presented to the winner at succeeding Conference sessions.

Nominations for the 2017 Award are to be received no later than May 1, 2017.  Nominees may be either lay or clergy persons. Each nomination should include a descriptive one page resume of that individual’s service to his or her local church and the organizations, committees and boards beyond.  The nomination form is available below.

Read Shirley Parrish's Let Us Remember

Download Nomination Form

Read Selection Process

Completed nominations should be forwarded to:

Roena Littlejohn, Conference Lay Leader
91 Laurel Place
Bridgeport, CT 06604-1717   or

Discipleship Ministries

2017 Therefore Go! With Hope through Hospitality Presentation

Local Church Lay Leaders / Lay Members to Annual Conference. What's My Job?

PowerPoint presentation   PowerPoint presentation as a pdf file

Script as Word document   Script as a pdf file