Harvey Elected as COB President, Bickerton Named President-Designate

Harvey Elected as COB President, Bickerton Named President-Designate


Bishop Thomas J. Bickerton, left, and Bishop Cynthia Fierro Harvey, right, confer with Bishop John Schol during the 2019 Special General Conference in St. Louis.
For Immediate Release
Wednesday, November 06, 2019

LAKE JUNALUSKA, N.C.  - Bishop Cynthia Fierro Harvey, the area bishop of Louisiana Conference, was today elected president of the Council of Bishops of The United Methodist Church during the bishops’ meeting at Lake Junaluska Assembly.

Also elected were:
  • President-Designate:  Bishop Thomas Bickerton
  • Secretary: Bishop Tracy Malone
  • Executive Secretary: Bishop Bruce Ough
  • Ecumenical Officer: Bishop Sally Dyck
  • Past President: Bishop Ken Carter
The current officer holders are Bishop Carter, president; Bishop Harvey, president-designate; and Bishop Mande Muyombo as secretary. The new officers will take office at the end of the May 2020 General Conference.

Outgoing Secretary Bishop Mande Muyombo was elected chair of the Connectional Table.

The executive secretary serves as the operations officer of the Council and works closely with the Secretary to monitor actions of the Council and Executive Committee. The ecumenical officer is responsible for relationships with other Churches and/or ecclesial bodies.  Both serve four-year terms and take office on September 1, 2020. Bishop Marcus Matthews and Bishop B. Michael Watson are the current holders of the positions.